Charities Logo
Charities Tag Line - Supporting Charities in New Zealand for Stronger Communities

Use this to find information about a particular charity.

Charity Summary

Charity Details

St John Ashburton Area Committee
St John

Registration details

June 30

Address for service

PO Box 1443
40 Lichfield Street
Christchurch Central

Charity's other details

03 353 7110

Group Members

Below are all the members of St John. Click into the individual members below to view their charity summary.

Member Charities
Kaikoura St. John Foundation Trust
Order of St John Great Barrier Island
St John Alexandra Area Committee
St John Ambulance Financial Control Board - Timaru
St John Amuri Area Committee
St John Ashburton Area Committee
St John Banks Peninsula Area Committee
St John Bay Of Islands Area Committee
St John Benneydale Area Committee
The Priory In New Zealand of the Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St John of Jerusalem

Purpose & Structure

Charitable Purpose

We’re on a journey towards becoming a truly integral part of New Zealand’s community health care solution of the future. The Vision for St John is enhanced health and well being for all New Zealanders.

Note: The main sectors, activities and beneficiaries are bolded.

Provides services (e.g. care / counselling)

Provides human resources (e.g. staff / volunteers), Provides buildings / facilities / open space


Education / training / research, Emergency / disaster relief, Fund-raising, People with disabilities, Promotion of volunteering

General public

Children / young people, Older people, People with disabilities

Entity Structure

The governing body of St John worldwide is its Grand Council. In New Zealand the Priory Chapter is responsible for all of the work of St John in New Zealand but delegates authority to the Priory Trust Board to oversee day-to-day activities, including the activities of the Regional Trust Boards. The Priory Trust Board subcommittees focus on remuneration, risk and audit, and clinical governance. The Priory Trust Board appoints the Chief Executive Officer.

Annual Returns

Annual Returns are due within 6 months of a charity’s balance date (financial year-end), or a longer period if an extension has been granted.


This charity has been granted an exemption from filing an annual return by 31 December 2008 under Section 43 of the Charities Act 2005. The first annual return is due by 31 December 2009. This charity has been granted an exemption from filing a notice of change form with their amended rules on 4 February 2016 under Section 43 of the Charities Act 2005.

Please note: This charity is a member of a Group which submits Consolidated Annual Returns. To view these Annual Returns on the Group Summary click here. Any Annual Returns listed below were submitted when this charity was a single entity.

Due Date Date Submitted Total Income Total Expenditure Financial Statements Annual Return Summary
31/12/2020 Member of 'St John' group - click here to view Annual Return
31/12/2019 Member of 'St John' group - click here to view Annual Return
31/12/2018 Member of 'St John' group - click here to view Annual Return
31/12/2017 Member of 'St John' group - click here to view Annual Return
31/12/2016 Member of 'St John' group - click here to view Annual Return
31/12/2015 Member of 'St John' group - click here to view Annual Return
31/12/2014 15/12/2014 $419,792 $485,593
31/12/2013 25/11/2013 $228,902 $260,230
31/12/2012 14/02/2013 $261,311 $235,745
31/12/2011 19/12/2011 $149,230 $202,943

Officer Details


Officer Name Position Effective Date
Rochelle Spencer Committee Member 24/06/2017
Russell Harris Committee Member 16/09/2016
Don Harbourne Committee Member 24/06/2014
Michael Smith Committee Member 24/06/2014
Gary Whiting Committee Member 1/04/2012
Peter O'leary Committee Member 1/07/2009
Elaine Vallender Executive Officer 19/12/2005
Paul Thomas Chair 24/06/2005

Past Officers

Officer Name Position Past Since
Lauren Sandrey Committee Member 1/07/2019
Jacalyn Rapley Committee Member 1/08/2018
Jaimee Blythe Committee Member 1/02/2018
John Tyrrell Committee Member 24/06/2017
Margaret Lynnette Clark Committee Member 24/06/2017
Nigel Dean Committee Member 24/06/2017
Walter Van der Kley Committee Member 24/06/2017
Alister Lindsay Brown Area Committee Member 24/06/2014
Elaine Vallender Secretary 24/06/2014
Phillip James Godfrey Chairman 24/06/2014

Charity Updates

Here is a list of all the details changed by the charity, for example adding or removing officers, amending rules, changing balance dates or updating address details.
Date Created Reference View Summary (.pdf <1MB)
12/12/2018 NOC018
30/11/2018 NOC017
1/09/2017 NOC016
11/07/2017 NOC015
25/11/2016 NOC013
4/05/2016 NOC011
2/07/2014 NOC010
10/10/2013 NOC007
19/03/2013 NOC006
6/12/2012 NOC005

Charity Documents